Alpine Sequences

by OK Ikumi

HEL001 / July 30 2012 / tape & digital

Alpine Sequences is a collection of short ambient recordings by OK Ikumi (Karl Jørgensen) inspired by the natural beauty of the Heber, Salt Lake, and Utah valleys. Each of the 20 tracks is built around repeating synthesizer sequences created by Jørgensen's prototypical Alpine Music Generation System. Recorded in Orem, Utah in the late winter & spring of 2012.

Songs by Karl Jørgensen
Pentagon by Jordan Haynie
J-card portrait by Greg Caldwell


"Alpine Sequences is a slow-burning record in classical minimalist fashion with close attention paid to overall mood (unrequited, slightly nostalgic) which never compromises the albums overall aesthetic. Jørgensen has never sounded better." -SLUG

"this recording certainly won’t be everybody’s cup of tea within the ambient genre, although it’s well made, dares to stand out and sound different." -Sonic Immersion

"Electronic flecks of addicting melody and minimalistic tones braid together into a gorgeous cassette album full of passion and beauty. This cassette release is adventuresome in its spry execution, so filled with energy and life. Yet, it definitely maintains a tranquility that washes over you with a muscle-relaxing heat and a mind-numbing coolness. Simple but sophisticated." -Foxy Digitalis

"Jørgensen skillfully massages his buoyant synths to create soothing, meditative headphone music." -The Big Takeover


  • 01 West Echo
  • 02 Pfeifferhorn
  • 03 Wasatch Waves
  • 04 Lone Peak
  • 05 Frost
  • 06 Hailstone
  • 07 Heights
  • 08 Passerine
  • 09 Valley Tones
  • 10 Aspen Loop
  • 11 Slope
  • 12 Keetley
  • 13 189
  • 14 Dry Sequence
  • 15 Orem Owls
  • 16 Nest
  • 17 Dry Creek
  • 18 Haze
  • 19 Red Pine
  • 20 Summit

Also available from iTunes, Amazon, Apple Music, Spotify.